Community Connections

  • January 14, 2015

    This is our Community a Celebration of Cultures

    Community Connections is pleased to invite you to our 4th annual event "This is our Community a Celebration of Cultures".  This event will be held on March 15, 2015 from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm at the Glencairn Neighborhood Centre - 2626 Dewdney Ave. East

    Read more ...  
  • September 14, 2012

    Special Olympic Truck Convoy & Truck Pull

    A TRUCK CONVOY of close to 70 trucks with large trailers left Saskatoon in the morning and arrived in Regina at the Turvey Centre at 1pm.

    Read more ...  
  • September 8, 2012

    Canadian Paraplegic Association Relay

    I was honoured to attend and bring greetings to this fun event

    Read more ...  
  • Chinese Freemasons of Regina

    We were pleased to attend their 4th Anniversary Banquet and Celebration

    Read more ...  
  • June 23, 2012

    Aboriginal Day Live & Celebration

    I had the honor of attending the Opening Ceremonies of the National Aboriginal Day Live & Celebrations.

    Read more ...  
  • K+S Potash Legacy Mine Ground Breaking Ceremony

    K+S Legacy Project near Bethune, Saskatchewan

    Read more ...  
  • Feed the Kids Night

    At North Central Family Centre.

    Read more ...  



Released on May 21, 2015

Premier Brad Wall today named a new Deputy Premier and a new Finance Minister as part of a small cabinet shuffle resulting from Ken Krawetz leaving cabinet.

Krawetz, who has announced he will not be running in the next provincial election, has been Deputy Premier since the current government took office and Finance Minister for five years, during which time he delivered five consecutive balanced budgets.

Veteran Minister Don McMorris becomes the new Deputy Premier.  McMorris retains all of his current responsibilities, including Minister responsible for Crown Investments Corporation, Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority and Saskatchewan Government Insurance.
“Don McMorris has been a strong and reliable minister during his time as Minister of Health and Highways and Infrastructure and in his current portfolios,” Wall said.  “He is well-respected in our cabinet and caucus and will make a great Deputy Premier.”

Kevin Doherty becomes Finance Minister.

“Kevin Doherty has been very involved in the budget process as a member of the Treasury Board,” Wall said.  “This year, he played an important role in dealing with our budget challenges so we could deliver a balanced budget without raising taxes.  I know Kevin working together with Treasury Board and caucus will help keep our province’s finances and our economy strong.”

Scott Moe takes over from Doherty as Minister of Advanced Education while Government Relations Minister Jim Reiter adds Minister responsible for SaskTel to his current duties.

Herb Cox enters cabinet for the first time, taking over from Moe as Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for SaskWater and the Water Security Agency.

The number of ministers remains at 18, including the Premier.  The size of cabinet has not changed since the government took office in 2007.

Paul Merriman will replace Cox as Government Whip.

Wall appointed Krawetz to serve as Legislative Secretary to the Premier for Saskatchewan-Ukraine Relations.

"Ken Krawetz is a strong voice for the Ukrainian-Canadian community in Saskatchewan and has worked hard to improve our economic and cultural relationship with Ukraine," Wall said.  "It makes sense that Ken should continue his work with the Saskatchewan-Ukraine Relations Advisory Committee to help Saskatchewan keep building that relationship."

Wall thanked Krawetz for his long and outstanding record of service to the people of Saskatchewan.

“It’s quite remarkable that Ken Krawetz has been either the Deputy Leader or Interim Leader of this party since he was first elected nearly 20 years ago,” Wall said.  “He is a leader who has earned the respect of his fellow MLAs, his constituents and the people of Saskatchewan.

“It’s going to be strange not having Ken sitting next to me in the Assembly and I will miss him, but I think he deserves a little more personal time after serving in some of the busiest and most important roles in the Legislature for two decades.”


For more information, contact:

Leanne Persicke
Executive Council
Phone: 306-787-4829
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Cell: 639-571-8261

Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn